Off To The Netherlands

'Holland' or 'The Netherlands' - what's the difference?The Netherlands is a country consisting of 12 provinces.  'Holland' is a region consisting of 2 of those 12 provinces, namely Noord Holland & Zuid Holland.  The other 10 provinces of the Netherlands are not Holland.  Telling someone from Utrecht, Arnhem, Eindhoven, Groningen or Maastricht that they come from Holland is like telling a Glaswegian that they come from East Anglia...


I can relate to this!